3 Weeks in and New things continue…

What I’ve found interesting is that even after spending two weeks on the programme (and looking for whale sharks most days) there is still opportunities to do new things. This is probably true in my day to day life as well but being on holiday has opened up my eyes to these opportunities.

Spotting Sharks

So to look for a shark you stand on top of the Dhoni (local boat) and you want to find these moving brown black blobs. To make things more difficult they’re often obscured by the sun glare, the rise and falling of the swell and several meters of water too.

There is a 6m shark in this photo.  Yup.
There is a 6m shark in this photo. Yup.

But there’s more than one way to look for sharks. When the reef is right it can be easier to spot them from under the water. So this is where drag snorkling comes in.

DSC04492
Showing off underwater biceps. Thanks Chris for the photo
Under water it feels like you're flying along. Chris says it was 15kph at most.
Anna’s view of the drag

Unfortunately both expeditions underwater didn’t find us any sharks but it made for a great experience to see the sea life flying past below you.

Poo in my bed

So I had these things falling on me throughout the night during our second stay over in Digurah.

I spent the whole night thinking "Why is there sand in my bed?? and why is it not going away???"

It wasn’t until morning that I realised that it wasn’t me that carried these grains in but it was actually falling on me as I lay on the boat floor. After some googling I’m convinced that I was pooped on throughout the night. This still counts as a first.

Crabs

In our rare moments of free time I wandered down the beach to look for things to photograph. The only things I found were crabs. There are lots of crabs here so I thought I’d name them.

Erik (because he's red) - The least skittish of all the crabs. He let me get really close.
Erik (because he’s red) – The least skittish of all the crabs. He let me get really close.
Boo - Like the ghosts from mario he hid away when he sees you watching him
Boo – Like the ghosts from mario he hid away when he sees you watching him
Brutus - I like him cause he's big and meaty.
Brutus – I like him cause he’s big and meaty.
Tim - The tiny ghost crab. I got cramps holding the camera steady to get a photo of him
Tiny Tim – The ghost crab. I got cramps holding the camera steady to get a photo of him

I always find crabs entertaining to photograph. They’ve got detailed textured shells which are great to capture and its also fun being able to sneak up to only as slowly and carefully as possible. Almost like a hunter catching prey (minus the pain, the killing and the maniacal laughter)

(EDIT)Back to spotting sharks

I forgot to show you where the shark actually was

still not very obvious
still not very obvious
DSC06390
here’s a close up

Given how hard it is to spot them its been pretty amazing that we’ve seen so many sharks so far. But we’re lucky to have the MSWRP (Eagle eye Katie especially) crew with us to help us spot them. And that’s how we get the chance to see them underwater

Just chilling with Stephan
2 thoughts on “3 Weeks in and New things continue…

  1. Yeh what is that poop stuff? I couldn’t work it work if it was cockroaches or some small marsupial. In our house in Albany they were always in the linen cupboard

  2. Oops. I left out that i think its termite poop (which is a little scary since its falling from the roof that we stand on EVERY DAY). I hope its not termites for your house though =S. That would be scary.

Leave a Reply

