Goodbye MWSRP!

Kev and I have landed in Istanbul 3 days earlier than initially planned to avoid any Maldives visa issues. We were to stay 32 days in the Maldives, however, the tourist visa is for 30 days and after discussion with the MWSRP team on the options available to us – chance it and just stay for the two days (and risk a fine of $600 each); attempt to gain an extension for the visa (which was very troublesome); or buy a return ticket from Male to Colombo, Sri Lanka (only an hour flight one way) so that our 30 days is reset; the best option that eventuated was to pay a fee of $90 per person to Turkish Airlines and change our flights.

In the first week, Katie and Alissa proposed that if we were comfortable enough, the volunteers could do a little presentation of photos or of anything regarding their best moments on the program. Sure enough, I automatically thought of collecting photos. However, I found that over the month, I didn’t take as many photos as I would have liked. But that was ok, as in the first and second week of the program, I wrote a song on my ukulele about searching for whale sharks.

It just came to me on a morning ride on the Dhoni. I remember sitting outside at the front and for some reason all these words came to me. Things like ‘ink blue’ and ‘tear drop’. Words that Katie had used to describe what to look for in the water. For some reason those words stuck and then when I wrote then down, the rest of the song just came.

The chorus tune also came to me on the Dhoni ride. After that, whenever I was out on the Dhoni or in the water searching for WS I played around with the tune. So here’s the finished product! I recorded it on our last day in crazy hot weather. So please bare with my mistakes here and there!

Here are some more photos from my camera:
Chris, Me and Kev. The koolest kats in town.
Chris, Me and Kev. The koolest kats in town.
The volunteer postcard shot. Thanks for the shot Fernando.
The volunteer postcard shot. Thanks for the shot Fernando.
Me and whale shark. Photo credit: Chris Hunter
Me and whale shark. Photo credit: Chris Hunter
Kev and I with a whale shark. Photo credit: Chris Hunter
Kev and I with a whale shark. Photo credit: Chris Hunter

A game of guess who with all the random photos of watches, hands and other limbs

Watch photo #1
Photo #1
Photo #2
Photo #2
Photo #3
Photo #3
Photo #4
Photo #4
Photo #5
Photo #5

Random photos here and there:

Photo from my first free dive session
Photo from my first free dive session
Measuring the length of the whale shark
Measuring the length of the whale shark
So friendly!
So friendly!
The amazing tea Alissa gave me for my stomach!
The amazing tea Alissa gave me for my stomach!
The pole that I would use to practice my free diving.
The pole that I would use to practice my free diving.
Cool looking fish.
Cool looking fish.
Another interesting fish... pipe fish?
Another interesting fish… pipe fish?
Amean getting in on the spotting action!
Amean getting in on the spotting action!
Fetched the current measuring device!
Fetched the current measuring device!
Last sunrise on Mandhoo.
Last sunrise on Mandhoo.
Whale shark found on the flight out of Male!
Whale shark found on the flight out of Male!
Closest I'll get to lasering the claspers.
The closest I’ll get to lasering the claspers.

So that ends our chapter in the Maldives. Until next time! Thanks again MWSRP. I can’t thank you guys enough for such a wonderful, eye-opening experience. Missing you guys, the water and the whale sharks already. Please keep in touch!!!!

=)

Oh! And if you wanna find out what kool kat Chris is up to in his travels, do check out his blog at :http://eachandeverymoment.blogspot.com

Our footprint:Β http://spiked.it/ceDPpYE

6 thoughts on “Goodbye MWSRP!

  1. Banzi I felt like I wanted to cry hearing your song!!!!! I can just see how happy you are, also I think the song is SUPER CUTE!!! Can hear it as a theme song or something, great singing and playing btw, so impressed!!!!

    So so happy for you.

    P.S
    Hope you bought that cute whale shark stuffed toy

    1. Hey mouse!

      Thanks!!!! 😁😁😁 I was peeing my pants about posting the video up so thanks for the awesome feedback!

      Oh… And that is a negative to the cute whale shark toy. It was so cool, but way too big. I’d have to sacrifice my uke if I had bought it.

Leave a Reply

